www.Norton-Commando.ch


Upgrades



electronic ignition: ( 750 und 850 )

To eliminate the multi-described insufficiency of the conventional ignition, the installation of an electronic ignition is recommended. Various models are available. The best known are Bransden Boyer, Pazos, and possibly on a vintage parts market, Lucas RITA. The installation is not for the hobbyist. Leave this your Norton dealer.


old airfilter: ( 850 )

Here, too, there are several reports according to which the black plastic air filter performance is not that nice. Shortly after the publication of MKIA or MkIIA models the plastic air filters were exchanged for the old metal air filter. The old metal air filter incl. all accessories can be ordered from known sources. However, since the main nozzle needs to be adjusted, this is also a job for the Norton dealer of your choice.


peashooter silencer: ( 850 )

If there is still a Norton with Black Cap Silencer in circulation, it is recommended to covert it to the Peashooter silencer. Together with the old air filter and new Jets a few previously hidden horses should show up. Apart from that, the Peashooter optically fit better to a Commando and help that there is only one tone, namely the Nor-tone. Again, the main nozzles need to be adjusted, so leave this up to your Norton dealer.


manifold without compensating tube: ( 850 )

This, introduced by the 850s engine "improvement" is not entirely uncontroversial. Certainly by the balance pipe the reduce of the acoustic emissions succeeded. Reports according to which the torque was raised slightly in the lower speed range through the balance pipe, could never be confirmed. Here the personal Gusto is the focus. If you love originality, you should leave the manifold with compensating tube. Who loves the Nor-tone, will opt for manifolds without compensating tube.


disc brakes: ( 750 und 850 )

For this purpose, the author lacks tof experience. Here's the place to express other Norton Commando fans experiences with the various available disc brake kits.


primary belt drive: ( 750 und 850 )

Unfortunately, for this purpose the author lacks tof experience. Here's the place to express other Norton Commando fans experiences.


Mk III Vernier Isolastic assembly: ( 750 und 850 )


For this purpose, the author lacks the experience. Here, other Norton Commando enthusiasts can reflect their experiences.

www.Norton-Commando.ch


Upgrades



Elektronische Zündung: ( 750 und 850 )

Um die mehrfach beschriebenen Unzulänglichkeiten der konventionellen Zündung zu eliminieren, empfielt sich der Einbau einer elektronischen Zündung. Diverse Modelle sind verfügbar. Die bekanntesten sind Boyer Bransden, Pazon, und allenfalls auf einem Oldtimer Teilemarkt, Lucas RITA. Der Einbau ist nichts für Bastler. Überlassen Sie diesen Ihrem Norton Händler.


Alter Luftfilter: ( 850 )

Auch hierzu gibt es mehrere Berichte wonach der schwarze Plastik Luftfilter der Leistung nicht gerade zuträglich ist. Bereits kurz nach Erscheinen der MKIA bzw. MkIIA Modelle wurden die Plastikluftfilter gegen den alten Metall-Luftfilter getauscht. Der alte Metall-Luftfilter inkl. allen Anbauteilen kann bei den bekannten Quellen bestellt werden. Da aber die Hauptdüse angepasst werden muss, ist auch dies ein Job für den Norton Händler Ihres Vertrauens.


Peashooter Auspuff: ( 850 )

Sollte tatsächlich noch eine Norton mit Black Cap Schalldämpfer im Umlauf sein, so sei hier der Umbau auf die Peashooter Auspuffanlage zu empfehlen. Zusammen mit dem alten Luftfilter und neuer Bedüsung dürften sich ein paar bislang versteckte Pferdestärken bemerkbar machen. Abgesehen davon passen Peashooter optisch besser zu einer Commando und tragen dazu bei dass es nur einen Ton gibt, nämlich Nor-Ton. Auch hier müssen die Hauptdüsen angepasst werden, daher: Norton Händler.


Krümmer ohne Ausgleichsrohr: ( 850 )

Diese, mit dem 850er Motor eingeführte " Verbesserung" ist nicht ganz unumstritten. Gewiss gelang es durch das Ausgleichsrohr die akustischen Emissionswerte zu senken. Berichte wonach das Drehmoment im unteren Drehzahlbereich durch das Ausgleichsrohr leicht angehoben wurde, konnten aber nie bestätigt werden. Hier steht das persönliche Gusto im Mittelpunkt. Wer die Originalität liebt, sollte die Krümmer mit Ausgleichsrohr dran lassen. Wer den Nor-Ton liebt, wird sich für Krümmer ohne Ausgleichsrohr entscheiden.


Scheibenbremsen: ( 750 und 850 )

Dazu fehlen dem Autor die Erfahrungen. Allenfalls können hier andere Norton Commando Begeisterte Ihre Erfahrungen mit den diversen erhältlichen Scheibenbrems Kits wiedergeben.


Primary Belt Drive: ( 750 und 850 )

Gerne gibt der Autor an dieser Stelle die Erfahrungen anderer Commando Rider wieder.


Mk III Vernier Isolastic Assembly: ( 750 und 850 )


Dazu fehlen dem Autor die Erfahrungen. Hier können andere Norton Commando Begeisterte Ihre Erfahrungen wiedergeben.